How We Wonder

We recently celebrated our daughter ( Princess T’s) second birthday.

We chose a twinkle twinkle little star theme as that was her favorite song six months ago (when I started my Pinterest board lol).  We talked about it all the time.  It even got to the point that anytime she saw me on my laptop she would crawl into my lap and ask to “look for twinkle star party”.

When the day finally came she was ecstatic!  Yet she didn’t fully understand what the party business was all about.  When she woke up that morning and saw where her dad and I had blown up balloons and decorated our dining table she exclaimed “I like my party!”  And then when we made her specifically requested pink and purple cupcakes she started getting really excited saying “my party tastes yummy!” and “I licking my party” (she was licking the icing bowl).  She thought that cupcakes and decorations were the extent of this party we had talked about for so long.

She had not yet seen the full glory the day would bring.

As people arrived it began to dawn on her bit by bit.  At first she was a little shocked from the chaos of  having 19 people in our home.  The attention was overwhelming for her also.  But when the grandness of being celebrated sank in she became absolutely elated!  She played with her two cousins ( one 8 months older and the other 8 months younger).  She relished in the spotlight as her grandparents, great grandparents, aunts, and uncles watched her open the gifts they chose especially for her.

She had seen fully seen what fun a birthday party could be.  What joy that much loving and laughing could bring.  How great it was to have everyone clap for her as she successfully blew out her candles (over and over!).  The mystery was gone and she understood.

Twinkle Twinkle

I can’t help but see the body of Christ in the innocence of my daughter’s reaction.

I Corinthians 13:11-12 reads like this “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.” (KJV)

When Lady Bug was first told about the party she had no idea what it was or what it would be like.  The same is true when we first hear the Gospel.  It is foreign to us.  We don’t understand how God’s law and grace works together or how it could really be true that the God of the universe would send His Son to take our place on the cross.  We can’t fathom that love.  It is like looking in the mirror when it is all steamed up from the shower running.  You can barely make out your own form much less any of the details of your face.

As we accept the Gospel on faith and begin to grow in Christ we see a little more clearly all the time.  Just like Princess T started to realize that parties were good and fun (and yummy) as she discovered each new advancement in the preparation.  As we walk through our lifetime with Christ we find new truths and have more wonderful experiences as time goes on.

The closer we get in our walk with Christ the more clearly we are able to the see the grandeur of who He is, the vastness of His grace, and the glory of eternity.

When we as His children finally cross over to the other side of everlasting life we are able to see fully the whole of who He is and the work that He has done for us and through us.  I was gifted with a glimpse of this moment as I watched my sweet toddler go from crying because someone was watching her (when the first guests arrived) to completely embracing the goodness of her special day.

How I long for that day.  When all fears are gone.  When my eyes will see fully what they were created to behold.

Until then we have to walk by faith. Faith that the blood that He she was enough and that His grace covers as we mess up day in and day out struggling on the narrow way.  Faith that He is leading and all we need to do is obey and follow in order to please Him.  Faith that He is in control and will be our Shield.  Faith that He is good no matter what life is throwing at us. Just have faith.

I have never been really good at having faith.  If I had been among the disciples the day the storm tossed their boat and Jesus calmed it I would have been the first one trying to bail water all while giving orders for someone to go see what Jesus was doing… why wasn’t He helping?  How could He be sleeping at at time like this?  I would have been the first one that He called out as having “little faith”.  Though many of us may not be good at it (even the apostles in the beginning) faith is exactly the one thing Jesus calls us to have.

He calls us to have faith… to trust Him… to not doubt.

Doubting is the opposite of faith.  Faith says I have made a choice to trust even when I don’t feel it and even when I am afraid.  Though it isn’t exactly in the scripture I feel like a lot of the fog that has been on my mirror that has been keeping me from seeing clearing at different times in my life has been doubt-lack of faith, lack of trust.  We have to trust Him to get close to Him.  We have to truly take Him at His words and believe them will all that we are.  No matter what.  That is faith.

I pray that your mirror be a little less foggy today.

-Ashley

6 thoughts on “How We Wonder

  1. What a genuine woman of God! You have always impressed me with your compassion and caring heart. Even as a child. God has truly blessed you with many special gifts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

